Totally and utterly baffled.

Midnight’s Children

Posted in Uncategorized by loisemma on August 22, 08

Afternoon trips to the library are always fun. I wrote up my first basic ideas for a film and am now researching. A.S. told me about a book which I found straight away and cannot wait to read. Midnight’s Children is a 1981 novel by Salman Rushdie. The protagonist and narrator of the story is Saleem Sinai, a telepath with a nasal defect. During his childhood, Saleem discovers that he, as well as all children born between 12 AM and 1 AM on August 15, 1947, have special powers. He convenes the MCC, a conference of all Midnight’s Children to discuss these powers and what the purpose of their powers might be. It’s loosely based around my film but goes alot deeper than my basic concept.

I’m getting more and more excited everyday for next year. I can’t wait to move into my new flat and meet new people. I’m excited for that moment where my perfect blue biro touches my brand new clean white pad. The first scene from the first film. The first letter I type. University is going to be different.

I keep seeing people make new discoveries. How your wingspan is the same as your height and you can measure it on railings, it won’t work. A little girl sticking her head out of a car window watching the world go by (this is so cliche it makes me sick). That part you missed. The freckle behind his ear.

I just got angry for no reason.

Leave a Reply

